“I’m leaving on a jet plane” – Susan

images[3]Sing along if you know the words! I left the clinic late Wednesday night and have two flights to  Chicago with a short stopover in Abu Dhabi, arriving home on Thursday afternoon. After 4 weeks, I am amazed to say I am a bit sad to leave. I will be leaving Alan behind for another week, as well as some really fun friends we met. And at the same time, I can’t wait to sleep in my own bed and take a bath!

We had such a laugh this morning when the neighborhood cow wandered into the clinic. cow at the clinicIt was raining and he wanted to get out of the wet. He also seemed to want some TLC, as he gently nudged into anyone who got close, which included me.  It was a little scary, between his size, and he was oozing snot from his nostrils, which went right on my pants. It took several people to get him to leave, as he really didn’t want to be outside!

We did experience real monsoon rains this summer. It rained non-stop for two weeks during the stay. I don’t usually let the weather bother my mood, but this got to be quite a drag. It probably had something to do with the constant, unfixable drip in my room, the corner walls that were “perspiring” rain water and the fact that everyone takes off their sandals upon entering a building and it was quite a wet mess.

I am sitting in the airport lounge in Hyderabad, waiting for my very early morning flight. I am ready to be back in the United States.  These trips to India have been a wonderful adventure and have given us the opportunity to experience a very different way of life.  Also it has been a powerful reminder of what a wonderful life we take for granted in America.  I intend to be more conscious about our world.

HEALTH UPDATE

I am returning once again taking half the thyroid medication I was taking upon arrival.  Doing the thyroid treatment just before departure has been a bit of challenge, as the body needs time to adjust to the lower dose.  I ate my first real meal at dinner before departure, after the week of rice.  I will have to eat very carefully as I travel and return home.  I have three days of home rest before I start working on Monday and am looking forward to some quiet before the kids return in a week.

I have lost at least ten pounds, if not more.  Between an old scale in the clinic, the kilo conversion and my eyesight, it is not clear.  No matter what the number is, it feels good and I hope the extra weight stays in India!

CAMP UPDATE

Sarah is having a really good summer and reports she can now windsurf across the entire lake and is teaching other kids to windsurf.  She reports she will be doing a three day biking trip and we await details on that adventure.  Boys camp has emailed twice to let us know that Jacob’s counselors have called using a satellite telephone to report that trip is going really well and they are having terrific weather!  He returns to camp on Friday, August 2nd  and will have a week to enjoy being back in camp before returning home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “I’m leaving on a jet plane” – Susan

  1. David Cockrell says:

    Wow. What great results from this latest healing journey. You are an inspiration to me!!

  2. Cindy says:

    I have loved reading your posts! I am in awe of your adventurous spirit. Remarkable!

    • alanm1145 says:

      Thanks, Cindy. I would have never gone off without Alan, turns out he is the real adventurer between us! In some ways, I liked making it like “camp”, having some good pals and enjoying the daily events. I was never very comfortable when we ventured out of the “campgrounds”! Hope you are having a great summer. Thanks for reading. SSM

  3. Mary Jo says:

    Susan, kudos to you for the wonderful healing results AND for your inner adventure in the process! Blessings & love, Mary Jo

  4. Laudy Lahdo says:

    Susan, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about your ayurvedic adventure and experience in India. The pictures along with the commentaries ( non sugar coated) have somewhat prepared me for my trip to the Dr Raju clinic later this year. Laudy from Dubai

Leave a Reply

