A Visit to the Yadagirigutta Temple

Last Wednesday evening Andrew (a friend here at the clinic) and I left with our driver/guide Murty for the Temple of Narasimha Swamy.  Narasimha is known as a healing deity and Dr. Raju often recommends a visit to this temple.

They also do head shaving at this temple. Having your head shaved at a temple is a way to put the past behind you and signify a fresh start. Given my health challenges a couple of  years ago, I am more than ready for a fresh start! So….off with the hair.

Another advantage of having my head shaved is that I started the Shiro Basti on Thursday. This is a treatment where the technicians use a rectangular sheet of plastic to create a cylinder around my head. They then use a dough to create a seal on the inside of the Imagecylinder and fill it with enough warm oil to cover my scalp.  They leave the oil on the top of my head for about 40 minutes. It is very soothing and according to Dr. Raju it calms the mind and makes it so that it can more readily absorb other medicines. I am hoping that it will help shrink that dead lesion on my brain. Which at 3 millimeters is half the size as it was two years but I am looking for more progress on that front.

After the head shaving we go to our hotel and settle in. Andrew and I go out for a walk around the village and then head back for dinner and some sleep. We have to be up at 3:00 am to get ready for a puja at 4:00am and then a second one at 5:30am.  The puja takes place inside the temple and Narasimha is offered water, milk, dressed in flowers and offered incense in return for his blessing. After the puja we head back to the clinic and are there for breakfast!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Visit to the Yadagirigutta Temple

  1. Dana Korey says:

    All I can Say Is WOW!!!!

  2. Very interesting! that cone on the head thing – wow! You are willing to go to any lengths!! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

